RSS

Gang Signs

09 Jan

Anyone who watched the BCS National Championship game last night saw many closeups of the University of Florida’s quarterback, Tim Tebow. I think it’s safe to say that those viewers couldn’t have helped noticing that Tebow was sporting his gang sign on his face:

tebow001
Yes, Tebow had the fundogelical sports enthusiast’s favorite testimony plastered right across his cheeks: John 3:16. To all readers named John, I hate to break the news to you, but Tim was not broadcasting his room number. Sorry.

Even as a kid growing up in a Christian family, I wondered what Christians were trying to accomplish by plastering this biblical reference all over sports stadiums. I knew what it meant, because I was privy to the code. But, what about those who didn’t belong to a Christian church? If the Christian sign-bearers were trying to convert the unsaved, shouldn’t their message have been more explicit? It seems far-fetched to assume that people unversed in the Christian scriptures would see that message – John 3:16 – and identify it as something meaningful. After all, if I saw a Muslim athlete with Surah 75:25 plastered on his face, my only response would be, “Huh?”

Consequently, I’ve concluded that the John 3:16 thing isn’t about evangelizing and reaching out to the unsaved at all (even though it’s supposed to be the primo evangelical verse). What it’s really about is showing one’s Christian colors, flashing the gang sign and letting other insiders know that one is also a member of the club. It’s sort of like having a Jesus fish on one’s car. So, now I know that, in addition to being a pretty good quarterback, Tim Tebow is a member of the Christian gang. **yawn** Okay. Next?

I wonder if it’s too late to get a scarlet A?

– the chaplain

 
65 Comments

Posted by on January 9, 2009 in religion

 

65 responses to “Gang Signs

  1. seantheblogonaut

    January 9, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    Warpaint and gang colours – who says that modern religion isn’t just mutated small minded tribalism.

     
  2. Orion77

    January 10, 2009 at 12:26 am

    Does Jesus get upset when Tim washes it off, at the end of the game? Why not make it permanent, with a needle & ink and share the message with everyone, everyday?

     
  3. Laurie

    January 10, 2009 at 1:45 am

    I thought the whole point of the black under the eyes was that it is supposed to reduce glare. Doesn’t the white writing defeat the purpose?

     
  4. DB

    January 10, 2009 at 1:52 am

    He is just another douche using his religion as a marketing tool. You think he gives a crap about the message or verse? No. He only cares that a large fan base awaits him which will translate to a bigger contract in the future.

    btw, is the “comment email” box thing below new? Or have I simply missed it for like the last year? If it is new, great add! If it isn’t new, I am a moron.

     
  5. the chaplain

    January 10, 2009 at 8:46 am

    Sean:
    I guess memes mutate just the way genes do. It makes sense. They’d have to mutate in order to survive.

    Orion:
    Good question. My guess is that a tattoo is too permanent. Some people wear their religion when it’s convenient to do so (see DB’s comment). I don’t know if Tebow is one such Christian or not, since I don’t know anything about his personal life.

    Laurie:
    You’re right about the purpose of the black. Your question about whether the white writing offsets the effect is a good one.

    DB:
    You question Timmy’s sincerity? I’m shocked. Where did you ever get the idea that people use religion for other ends?

    As for the email comment box, I don’t know how long it’s been there. It doesn’t show up for me, probably because it’s my blog. If it’s a new WP feature, it’s a good one.

     
  6. The Ridger

    January 10, 2009 at 11:12 am

    Many RTCs believe tattoos are sinful. I remember reading about some RTC doctor who wouldn’t treat people with tattoos. And anyway, he couldn’t change the cite with a tattoo.

    Chap, I think you’re absolutely right. It’s gang symbols, flaunting his religiosity, not an attempt to convert anyone.

     
  7. Spanish Inquisitor

    January 10, 2009 at 11:34 am

    What this brings home for me is the effect of childhood indoctrination. Even a “worldly” adult, a college student, still is so infected by what his parents and church did to him, that he not only cannot shake it off, he has to advertise the fact to the world. Such insecurity!

    I’m going to try out the email feature. It must be new to WordPress. Blogger has had it for a long time.

     
  8. Digital Dame

    January 10, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    I assume the message behind the scriptural reference is one of love? Seems to stand in stark contrast to the expression of rage and aggression we see manifesting in that photo. Just a little incongruous, to me.

    I would guess he’s just pandering to the party line. My really cynical side might even suggest he could possibly have been paid to do it.

     
  9. Ric

    January 10, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    The email thingie is new to WordPress. There’s a post on the WP blog about it.

    DDame -

    Given that college football is simply the farm system for the NFL, suggesting that Tebow got paid to flaunt his superstition in everybody’s face is not particularly cynical.

     
  10. PhillyChief

    January 10, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    Actually I think he does care. He’s fully on the Jesus train. They wouldn’t shut the fuck up about his “missions” to Africa and all that during the game. I don’t think it’s for show, he truly buys into it, DB.

    Isn’t there some Bible passage about not making a show of one’s faith? What’s the secret code for that one? I don’t have my decoder ring handy.

     
  11. the chaplain

    January 10, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    Ridger:
    You’re right about the sinful tattoo thing. Some people even object to the temporary ones. Talk about living in a No Fun Zone!

    SI:
    Yes, the Christian need to advertise their faith at every moment of every day grows tiresome.

    Digital:
    The scripture Tebow referenced is, For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. Sorry for the King James English – that’s what I was taught in the early phase of my indoctrination.

    Yeah, the facial expression doesn’t match the words, but it’s not like we’ve never seen that sort of incongruity before.

    Maybe I still have a decoder ring around here that I can send you. :)

    Ric:
    I doubt that Tebow got paid, as that would violate NCAA rules and damage, if not totally screw, his shot at the NFL.

    Philly:
    Yeah, I caught a couple of those comments about what a remarkable young man Tebow is.

    Is this the passage you had in mind?

    And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by men. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you. (Matthew 6:6)

    Hmm. Matt 6:6 could be an interesting one to interpret without the decoder ring. Is it a room number? A guy’s height? His penis length?

     
  12. Jacob

    January 10, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    Good post. I like the “gang” thingy. I grew up as you did and always thought the people holding up John 3:16 signs were idiots.

    You might be interested in my post(s)about what I call “facial evangelizing” on Contextual Criticism.

    Here’s the link: http://mythandhope.blogspot.com/2009/01/god-tim-tebow-win-again.html

    Regards,

    Jacob

     
  13. the chaplain

    January 10, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    Jacob:
    Thanks for your comment. I hope to see you around here more often. I liked your post on God & Tim.

     
  14. vjack

    January 11, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    I think you are absolutely correct that this is one of those things Christians do simply to show that they are part of the group. I don’t suppose there is anything wrong with that, at least there wouldn’t be if they didn’t need to condemn everyone who wasn’t part of the group.

     
  15. heather

    January 11, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    Excuse my ignorance, what does it stand for anyway?

     
  16. the chaplain

    January 11, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    vjack:
    I could care less about Tebow’s religious preference, although it would be nice if he just kept it between himself and God, as Jesus commanded (see end of #11 – Matthew 6:6). The offensive part of the religious posturing is all the Insider/Outsider, Saved/Damned mentality that goes with certain brands of religion. Unfortunately, Tebow’s brand is one of those.

    Heather:
    John 3:16 is the reference for this New Testament verse: For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

    Thanks for proving my point about how meaningless the sign is to those who aren’t on the inside. :)

     
  17. The Ridger

    January 11, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    Oh, the heathen are supposed to be so impressed by Tebow that they ask what the facepaint means. Then they look up the verse and – ARE CONVERTED! YAY! Win!

    Or so the fantasy goes.

     
  18. PhillyChief

    January 11, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Hey, remember that Rainbow wig guy who used to hold up the 3:16 signs? Yeah, he went on to become the Antichrist and tried to bomb churches and book stores. Funny how the magic of that passage works, huh?

     
  19. the chaplain

    January 11, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    Ridger:
    Boring fantasy. Which leads us to

    Phillychief:
    Here’s some info on The Rainbow Man as he came to be called. In all fairness, Rainbow Man is obviously ill. Still, it’s alarming how often religion is connected with bizarre, even insane, behavior.

     
  20. Sarge

    January 11, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    Two summers ago I was run down by a person driving a Jeep.

    Many cars went whipping around, almost running over the bits of me that were sticking out from under, one of whom hit me again when some people got me out from under the jeep. Some drivers even shouted insults and imprecations at me because I was in the way and they were in a hurry. It was intersting to see how many of these cars had some bible verse or religious slogan bumper sticker, christian fish, or fraternal organisation plaque (which fraternal outfits demand a certain code of conduct as well as belief in a supreme being). The guy that hit me a second time was a thirty second degree mason.

    Just goes to show that what’s advertised isn’t necessarily what’s in the box.

    The people who actually helped me, protected me, were a couple of bikers and a car load of “emo” (?) kids.

     
  21. PhillyChief

    January 11, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    Sounds like a modern version of the Good Samaritan story

     
  22. cl

    January 12, 2009 at 2:24 am

    After all, if I saw a Muslim athlete with Surah 75:25 plastered on his face, my only response would be, “Huh?”

    Exactly. And when something produces a “Huh?” for me, I tend to want to know just what it is that I’ve not heard of before. Many people, as evidenced by commenter heather here, simply don’t know what John 3:16 stands for. And upon exposure to something they’ve never heard of, many people will naturally inquire further. When I first heard the word “Faggot,” for example, I immediately asked my father what it meant.

    And while I will abstain from casting judgment on the motivations of a man I’ve never met, it is certainly possible that people who advertise scriptures as such know that the unfamiliar will react as such.

     
  23. Sarge

    January 12, 2009 at 9:13 am

    Philly, I’ve often found that the people who really give you help are often folks that are quite unlikely.

    Fair do’s, one of the cops, a mason and church goer, made the ambulance crew take me to the VA first and get transfered to the trauma center so that I wouldn’t get hit with a bill that would be impossible for me to pay.
    There was a camera at the location that got the whole incident as well, and he got me a copy of the tape.

    Just that good people are good people, the bric-a-brac and credentials they display don’t mean jack.

     
  24. Spanish Inquisitor

    January 12, 2009 at 10:44 am

    cl said:

    Exactly. And when something produces a “Huh?” for me, I tend to want to know just what it is that I’ve not heard of before. Many people, as evidenced by commenter heather here, simply don’t know what John 3:16 stands for. And upon exposure to something they’ve never heard of, many people will naturally inquire further.

    Except that unless you’ve been living in a cave, everyone knows that John 3:16 is a quote from the Bible, even if they don’t know the words. The colon in the cite gives it away. Believers will go “Righteous, man. He’s one of us!” Other’s will react by thinking “Christ. Another Bible thumper.” or perhaps “WTF?” or maybe they’ll just shrug their shoulders.

    The verse is meaningless white noise to everyone other than those in the know, which makes it more akin to Chappie’s Gang Colors, than to your source for unanticipated knowledge. No one is going to look at his eye black, run to the library for a Bible, read the passage and think “Wow! The meaning of life! I’ve finally found it”. It takes years of layering on indoctrination and interpretation for the verse to have the kind of meaning to the uninitiated that it has to Tebow.

     
  25. PhillyChief

    January 12, 2009 at 11:24 am

    Don’t knock it, SI. I used to know a guy who was relentless in getting girls to hook up with him. It was infuriating to see girls just give in after awhile, so I’ve seen the tactic work. Christian evangelizing then is like my old horny friend, it keeps wearing you down figuring eventually you’ll just give in and give it up.

     
  26. Postman

    January 12, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    I think you’re on to something, Chaplain. That 9/11 drive-by makes a little more sense now.

     
  27. liquidthinker

    January 12, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    Exactly right, I think. It’s all about the colors and identifying yourself to your own tribe. This is also found in some
    fast food restaurants
    . It is kind of interesting though. I wonder how this plays into this idea many Christians seem to have about being persecuted (I was even told this was the case by a Christian friend) in this country and so wanting to give out signals to others of the group that they “are not alone”.

    But yes, I think this does probably interfere with trying to reduce glare slightly, in addition to displaying tribalism. But what do you expect from a Gator (He said displaying his own tribalism.)?

     
  28. The Ridger

    January 12, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    Much of religiosity is precisely that – a way to show that “I am one of you, I can be trusted, I am not The Other”. Kosher, wearing specific items of clothing, haircuts, public rituals … most of them have no other meaning. Religious people often realize that, but they explain it as “keeping faith with god” – if all I have to do is not kill, that’s easy, said a rabbi whose name I’ve forgotten, but to not eat bacon?

     
  29. Sarge

    January 12, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    Is this thing we’re discussing called “branding” by the advertising people? I’ve heard it during the last electoral ordeal being discussed.

     
  30. cl

    January 12, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    Postman,

    That 9/11 drive-by makes a little more sense now.

    Hmmm… Since when was WTC affiliated with religion? I must’ve missed the Bible slogans plastered all over WTC. So then, was 9/11 just another case of innocent bystanders getting blasted? If so, so much for those “Imagine No Religion” WTC stickers, eh?

    SI,

    Except that unless you’ve been living in a cave, everyone knows that John 3:16 is a quote from the Bible, even if they don’t know the words.

    Such a statement merely reveals your intelligence and privilege, which not all have access to. There are many, many Americans who simply have zero exposure to the verse. I run into young kids in precisely this situation all the time. I myself didn’t know a thing about it or that it was from the Bible until I saw it somewhere much like it was portrayed on Tim Tebow’s cheeks, and felt fit to ask somebody about it. Commenter heather above also inquired as to what it meant.

    The colon in the cite gives it away.

    Gives it away to you or others who already enjoy the privilege of knowing that Bible verses use colon-based notation. You assume everyone should have your knowledge and that’s, well…whatever. Incidentally, I didn’t know the Bible was the only book that uses colon-based notation.

    No one is going to look at his eye black, run to the library for a Bible, read the passage and think “Wow! The meaning of life! I’ve finally found it”.

    Of course not, and that’s not what I’m saying. If someone doesn’t know it’s a Bible verse, for example some young kid seeing it for the very first time, of course they’re not going to go grab a Bible. I’m saying people who truly are ignorant about the verse will likely inquire about it, just as I inquired about the word “Faggot” the first time I heard it.

    And not all people with zero exposure to John 3:16 live in caves as you condescendingly suggest. Many young people are genuinely and innocently ignorant of John 3:16, as much so as they are ignorant about Origin.

     
  31. Postman

    January 13, 2009 at 10:24 am

    cl,

    Why am I getting the feeling that you have trouble recognizing a little snark at the expense of religion?

     
  32. mrpendent

    January 13, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    For whatit’s worth, I had the scarlet A incorporated into my tattoo design, although that was for mean not to prove membership into a group. :)

     
  33. heather

    January 13, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    As Spanish Inquisitor says, it’s no great stretch to recognise John 3:16 as a Bible quote.
    I might have assumed it was someone confirming the arrangements for a date with John at 3:16, in a handily readable face-paint format (except for him being an American sportsman).

    I have to guess this is in common usage as a slogan. (? )Otherwise I am amazed that most people writing here seem to be familiar with the quote.

    Or do you all know every line in the New Testament by book and verse number?

     
  34. heather

    January 13, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    And does it mean he can do mirror-writing?

     
  35. TW

    January 13, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    cl

    Hmmm… Since when was WTC affiliated with religion?

    Well, the building’s weren’t but what happened to them pretty much was.

     
  36. Ric

    January 13, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    “Or do you all know every line in the New Testament by book and verse number?”

    One might hazard a guess that a fairly large number of committed atheists know the book better than a good many so-called Christians, possibly because many atheists were once members of the Christian sect, and, on applying some critical thinking to the brainwash of their local society, saw through the foolishness.

    The number of real Christians in the world can probably be counted on one hand and they are likely secreted away in some monastery or other. Being Christian is an aspiration, confused by 99.999 percent of Christians with an achievement. Besides, why aspire when you can settle for brainwash? In any event any real Christian would be crucified by his congregation for upsetting their narrowly-wheeled little applecarts of mental and emotional fixation.

    Lest I be accused of being anti-Christian, or anti-Christianity, which I am, let me add the disclaimer that I am anti all religion, and have been for some decades now and have never claimed otherwise. I do think that the Christian version is one of the uglier ones, steeped in hypocrisy and authoritarianism, and more willing to confuse lies and illogic with reality than most, and most appealing to the ignorant, the illiterate, and just plain stupid. That some smart and clever people go through the motions and proclaim their devoutness and loyalty no more lends credence to the religion than does the derring-do of the snake handlers among the fundamentalists.

     
  37. cl

    January 14, 2009 at 3:08 am

    Ric,

    For an anti-Christian, you made one of the most eloquent, spot-on statements about Christianity I’ve ever heard, one that will no doubt stick with me for my entire life:

    “Being Christian is an aspiration, confused by 99.999 percent of Christians with an achievement.”

    Thank you. So well said.

     
  38. Ric

    January 14, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Fer chrissake cl, you’re gonna ruin my reputation as a rabble rouser and anti-Christian bigot. Whassamatta you?

     
  39. Digital Dame

    January 14, 2009 at 11:18 am

    I believe it was Maya Angelou who once commented after being told by a fan that they were Christian, “My goodness! Already?”

    We now return you to your regularly scheduled program already in progress…

     
  40. Sarge

    January 14, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    Maybe we did sort of make an assumption.

    The scripture thing is pretty much something that’s almost a reflex to those of us who had to go to Sunday school, bible school, or just about any protestant church service for about three times running. Also, in this area about every sixth billboard around here has something to do with praying the rosary, reading one’s bible, or that particular scriptural reference with a call to repent.

    Some people wouldn’t be exposed to this or know its signifigance to the twice born. I spoke to a young friend of mine about this today, and until I explained it to her, she thought it was something like the “OBEY” placcards which are seen all about the landscape. She figurd it had something to do with religion but wasn’t sure what.

     
  41. DB

    January 14, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    I’ll admit I had no idea what the verse was, though I at least knew it was some Bible verse. For all I know, he could have imprinted some other verse and it would have the same effect on me and I would still mock him for it.

     
  42. cl

    January 14, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    Sarge,

    The Shepard Fairey analogy works quite well IMO. Like I tried to explain to SI, not everybody has the luxury of a good education, something many seem to take for granted and assume applies to everyone. Not being familiar with John 3:16 doesn’t entail that one lives in a cave. Let’s not forget how privileged we all are, every single one of us that’s graduated or attended college.

     
  43. PhillyChief

    January 15, 2009 at 12:22 am

    Lest anybody not know what the fuck it was, the announcers made sure you knew, along with every detail of how awesomely wonderful he is for going on his missions. No worries about lack of education. Plenty of good free Christian advertising courtesy of ESPN. I guess that makes up for the freakishly large chick’s rant last year, although that never got airtime.

     
  44. Sarge

    January 15, 2009 at 8:10 am

    I’m guessing that it is a cultural thing. Most people my age were, at least for a while, sent to some religious training, and so were exposed.

    Around here, the kids and younger people are either dipped in a very cold pool of fundamentalism and bible literalism where certain chapters and verses are particularly emphasised…and others brushed under the rug (being inconvenient, contradictory, or socially unacceptable in some way). Or, they are encouraged to believe in a deity in some loose way as being right and proper, and not much else.

    The latter are often very easy marks later.

     
  45. cl

    January 15, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Sarge,

    I’m guessing that it is a cultural thing.

    Geographical as well. You see little of it where I’m at.

     
  46. Kristi B.

    November 4, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    Leave Tim Tebow alone!

     
  47. JaRoan Solo

    January 3, 2010 at 2:47 am

    Kristi B. :Leave Tim Tebow alone!

    amen

     
  48. JaRoan Solo

    January 3, 2010 at 3:08 am

    JaRoan Solo :

    Kristi B. :Leave Tim Tebow alone!

    amen

    if the best you guys can do is crytic on a yhoung college qb {Tebow} and his religouse beliefs then you guys have too much time on your hands. What makes you a better person to shame someone of there successe when you to were gifted with talent of somesort of your own. apperantly God is getting the message through Tebow because you guys are on here trying to say anything possible to hurt this mans image because satan is interfering with your thoughts. as a christian comments like the ones listed above do not crush us but on encourages because we know these are the things that satan does not want to here sbout God, so he uses what ever is in his way to help defend his case, and in this case it seems the objects he seems to be using are you guys. you can deny it all you like but it is the truth. being jealouse of ones gift is a foolish thing to mingle with and it is a waste of time, take pride in the gift you have and enjoy the sport. if you dont like tebow dont watch him play. if your tired of hearing him on espn then turn off espn. if you are just tired of the word tim tebow then burn every magazine that you bought that has tebow on it and throw away or sell your tv to someone who likes tebow and appreciate the entertainment of the athlete and game.

     
  49. Sean the Blogonaut

    January 3, 2010 at 3:30 am

    JaRoan Solo :

    JaRoan Solo :

    Kristi B. :Leave Tim Tebow alone!

    amen

    if the best you guys can do is crytic on a yhoung college qb {Tebow} and his religouse beliefs then you guys have too much time on your hands. What makes you a better person to shame someone of there successe when you to were gifted with talent of somesort of your own. apperantly God is getting the message through Tebow because you guys are on here trying to say anything possible to hurt this mans image because satan is interfering with your thoughts. as a christian comments like the ones listed above do not crush us but on encourages because we know these are the things that satan does not want to here sbout God, so he uses what ever is in his way to help defend his case, and in this case it seems the objects he seems to be using are you guys. you can deny it all you like but it is the truth. being jealouse of ones gift is a foolish thing to mingle with and it is a waste of time, take pride in the gift you have and enjoy the sport. if you dont like tebow dont watch him play. if your tired of hearing him on espn then turn off espn. if you are just tired of the word tim tebow then burn every magazine that you bought that has tebow on it and throw away or sell your tv to someone who likes tebow and appreciate the entertainment of the athlete and game.

    Please, for Christ’s sake, use some punctuation.

     
  50. the chaplain

    January 3, 2010 at 4:44 am

    Sean:
    My understanding is that the original authors of the Bible weren’t big on punctuation either.

     
  51. heather

    January 3, 2010 at 6:06 am

    After a full year, is the the moment to reveal that I have even less idea of who Tim Tebow is than I have of John 3:xx?

     
  52. PhillyChief

    January 3, 2010 at 8:25 am

    If the best you can do is fail to exhibit punctuation, proper capitalization, and even correct spelling (there is a built in spellchecker for fuck’s sake), then you should be spending your time addressing such deficiencies and not wasting it trying to comment on blogs.

     
  53. the chaplain

    January 3, 2010 at 11:11 am

    Heather:
    Tim Tebow is a college football player (American football, not soccer). He and his team have been very successful, so he gets a lot of media attention. See below, re: John 3:16:

    the chaplain :
    - snip –

    Digital:
    The scripture Tebow referenced is, For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten son, that whosoever believeth in him shall not perish, but have everlasting life.
    - snip -

     
  54. DB

    January 3, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    When I see Bible verses on his face I find solace in Matthew 6: 5 “And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by men. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full.”

     
  55. cl

    January 3, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    If the best you can do is fail to exhibit punctuation, proper capitalization, and even correct spelling (there is a built in spellchecker for fuck’s sake), then you should be spending your time addressing such deficiencies and not wasting it trying to comment on blogs. (PhillyChief, to Heather)

    Now that’s interesting; what should one spend their time addressing if the best they can do is criticize technical deficiencies?

     
  56. PhillyChief

    January 3, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    Coming from the idiot whose arguments rely on criticizing what he thinks are technical deficiencies, yet he consistently misidentifies them, misunderstands what they are, and laughably commits them himself without having a clue that he does. LOL!

     
  57. Heather

    January 5, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    cl or cI
    Unless I seriously underestimate the number of spelling and grammatical mistakes in my last casual comment, I suspect that your quote which ended
    “addressing such deficiencies and not wasting it trying to comment on blogs. (PhillyChief, to Heather)”
    wasn’t actually directed to me….
    A. Pedant

     
  58. Angel

    January 9, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    I wouldn’t think that wearing this verse under his eyes is to make him more popular, or to ‘show off’ as some on here have said. Just look at what criticism it has brought him so far, the people’s opinions on this site for example. Almost every comment this far has been critical in nature, about someone’s smartness, english, grammar or display of affiliation. Im sure someone will find happiness in saying something negative about me too.
    I think he is brave and doing what he wants or believes he should regardless of what others think of him. Though I do not know him personally, this would be my best guess. Just my opinion, which really means nothing, I know.

     
  59. PhillyChief

    January 9, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    Angel, we’re in the minority, so our criticism, unfortunately, isn’t great evidence to argue against how his verse usage is for gaining popularity.

    Would you still consider him brave if he had NAMBLA written on those things, or perhaps KKK? How about “God Hates Fags”? Still brave? Just curious if your label of brave was objective or subjectively tied to how whatever he was advertising coincided with your likes.

    Btw, kudos on spelling, but you missed an apostrophe. ;)

     
  60. cl

    January 9, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    Angel,

    Just look at what criticism it has brought him so far, the people’s opinions on this site for example. Almost every comment this far has been critical in nature, about someone’s smartness, english, grammar or display of affiliation. Im sure someone will find happiness in saying something negative about me too.

    What you say is true. In my experience, people get to that level when they don’t have anything of substance to say.

    I think he is brave and doing what he wants or believes he should regardless of what others think of him. Though I do not know him personally, this would be my best guess. Just my opinion, which really means nothing, I know.

    I think yours is a reasonable opinion.

     
  61. cl

    January 9, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    Heather,

    Unless I seriously underestimate the number of spelling and grammatical mistakes in my last casual comment, I suspect that your quote which ended
    “addressing such deficiencies and not wasting it trying to comment on blogs. (PhillyChief, to Heather)”
    wasn’t actually directed to me….

    Comment #55 was directed to PhillyChief, because he was sitting there criticizing you for spelling and trivial grammar errors, none of which has anything to do with Tim Tebow.

     
  62. Heather

    January 10, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    cl
    I really hope that nobody else has confused me with JaRoan Solo, but you’ve done it twice now so it may point to a more general confusion…..

    For the record, I could easily make enough mistakes to match a roomful of homeschooled 8 year-olds, but I’m definitely not in the same grammar and punctuation Baseball league as JaRoan Solo.

     
  63. Tommykey

    January 10, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    JaRoan Solo? What is he, Han Solo’s uncle or something?

     
  64. Heather

    January 10, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    Angel

    I nominate you for the award for “Most Aggressive Use of Humility in Blog Comment.” It’s a crowded field but you put up a great showing.
    IMHO

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

